Mike isn’t 18 anymore.

So, I went back to school. Not a community college but a four year university. I’m starting from scratch and I discovered that something that I was fearful of is going to be an actual issue. I wanted to share it with you and hopefully other returning-adult students that might be facing the same dilemma.

Starting over means being almost 31 years old in a class with students who are 18/19. Having an intellectual conversation with people of that age bracket when you’ve had twelve years of life (adult life) that they have yet to embark on is challenging. I don’t know how college professors do it, talking about politics and opinion and the realities of the world at a private school with kids that have been going to private school their whole lives.

Bills, rent, jobs, careers, choices, not having choices… I think about my life and what I’ve been through, and when the 18 year old kid sitting next to me tells me that I am wrong and tries to argue with me about the validity of his argument…

I know that I should be listening and respecting his thoughts, but I want to scream, “YOU HAVE NO IDEA”. How the hell do you have any idea what you’re talking about? I think it was because he was directing his criticism at me personally and not my ideology. Which displays his immaturity, so why am I still pissed?

It’s something that I have to deal with, it’s the reality of my situation… but, how am I supposed to do that?

Am I right to be bothered or am I simply being an agist?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 14:24:49

    I have experienced the same thing. I have to remind myself of the age difference. People I work with are 16/17 and I want to scream at them about how stupid they sound. Then I remember some of the dumb things I did at that age. It is still super annoying though.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 19:08:41

    You’re totally right. I think what I should appreciate is their willingness to stand firm in their beliefs. Which after they’ve lived for a while had some of their beliefs challenged and had some real world experience, maybe they’ll change their beliefs again and stand firm by those. But that’s the wonderful, awesome benefit of humanity: the ability to change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

