What’s important… and why I need your help

I try to not bully my readers with constant posts. Especially when the content that I generally post about is so heavy.

I wanted to share some simple Saturday morning thoughts with you, my lovely readers. I’m not going to have my editor clear this piece, so be prepared for errors and random unnecessary punctuation. I just feel like I want to really talk to you.

It’s Saturday morning and I am surrounded by purring cats. I want to go get a cup of coffee and do some research for a piece I am writing but I was up late last night reading, following links like it’s my job and getting sadder and sadder.

I’m reading about authors and commentators that feel it is appropriate to call the President a “retard” and then call people outraged by such behavior “retarded”.  http://politicker.com/2012/10/ann-coulter-calls-obama-the-retard/

I read about a young girl last night who was bullied into suicide. http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/15-year-old-throws-front-train-staten-island-article-1.1191808

A vice presidential candidate who refers to rape “as another method of conception”. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cat5SyMBSpk

Detroit has over 11,000 untested rape kits. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/soraya-chemaly/50-facts-rape_b_2019338.html?ncid=edlinkusaolp00000003

I don’t care about your political persuasion, and I don’t care who you feel is to blame. The problem is that these situations are becoming more common and it’s happening with greater frequency, we need to do something to change it. I’m so sad, it’s unbelievable. I volunteered for over 30 hours last week, that’s how important these things are to me. Are they important to you? Will you help me change the world? Because we need to, now more than ever.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terence Quinn
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:10:30

    “We may be few, and our enemies many. Yet so long as there remains one of us still fighting, one who still rages in the name of justice and truth, then by the Allfather, the galaxy shall yet know hope.” A (sci-fi) quote that tends to help me through the day. There’s also one from Burke: “When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle.”

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:13:19

    Thanks, T. Those are wonderful quotes, most of my real inspiration comes from Doctor Who… Allfather, is that from Firefly?

    Reply

  3. Shireen
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:51:39

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’ve been trying to get this conversation started, and no one seems to see the connection between the events!! I will definitely be sharing this story.

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 14:55:15

    Thank you, Shireen. I welcome all opinions and thoughts. I appreciate your sharing the work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

